How to Downgrade your WordPress Website Manually?

It is quite common that you get stuck with a partial upgrade and your site just ends up in an error state. Mostly, this happens when you are trying to upgrade your website and some silly plugins or themes just don’t like what you are doing. Now, that’s a problem when you need to downgrade your WordPress website manually.

WordPress get 3 to 5 updates yearly. Updates are good because they improve your websites speed and performance. It is always recommended that we upgrade to the latest version of WordPress.

Why WordPress Upgrading Fails?

Before we talk about how to downgrade, let us talk about a bit what might have caused to fail the upgrading process.

WordPress is an open-source platform and it is built with the help of hundreds of developers who contribute to it. This is why WordPress has a wide verity of themes and plugins. Anyhow, when WordPress comes up with their new updates, the developers who work on these themes and plugins might also have to update their plugins to match the changes in the new version of WordPress. If they don’t update it, the themes & plugins might get corrupted.

This is one of many reasons that your WordPress upgrade failed. Also, this is one of the most common issues too. Now, let us follow some steps to get your website back and running.

Steps to Downgrade your WordPress Website Manually

Firstly, you might want to back up your website before doing these steps just to be safe. If you think the upgrading is failed by a false plugin you can do these steps first before proceeding.

Try deactivating all the plugins that you used in your website.

Bulk deactivating WordPress plugins 

To do that, you can just bulk select all the plugins & choose the option to deactivate.

Then again, if you don’t have access to your WordPress dashboard, you can deactivate the plugins manually by using a file manager that your hosting provides with.

Secondly, find out the correct version of the WordPress that you want to downgrade to. Download it from here.

Now that you have the files ready, open your website’s files using the file manager that you have. Under htdocs you will find all your WordPress files. Delete the wp-admin and wp-includes directories.

Select & Delete wp-admin and wp-includes directories

Since you want to keep your website’s files, you don’t need to delete the wp-content folder

Now, upload all the files from the version of WordPress that you want to install. Note that we don’t want to upload the wp-content directory. So, keep it the same. When asked if you want to overwrite files, select overwrite all.

Copy files from the older version of WordPress

After this is done, go back to your website’s backend and update the database if asked so.

Now, you can login to your website as usual.

Now, we can reactivate the plugins and see what has gone wrong. Also, you might want to disable automatic update since WordPress will try to update it.

Share and Enjoy !

0Shares
0 0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

0Shares
0 0